Cabernet Braised Spare Ribs

October 3, 2007

I’ve been cooking for years, and being a proud Southern cook, I’ve smothered my share of pork chops and chicken. Last weekend, however, I realized that “smothering” is very similar to (if not the same as) braising.

This month’s Bon Appetite (Oct. 2007) features these short ribs, and after cooking them, I totally see how they made the cover.

Everything comes together at the end. The ribs cook away in two bottles’ worth of Cabernet for a few hours until they are falling off the bone.

The wine imbues the meat with a deep, rich flavor – and it makes a nice reduction at the end.

We served it over the magazine’s recommendation of Gorgonzola polenta, but to be honest, I didn’t care for it. To be fair, I’m not a huge fan of blue cheeses.

Next time, I am going to serve it over my Roasted Corn Grits. That will make it perfect.

Even though I didn’t love it, the polenta was okay. I’ll post about it tomorrow. Bridget actually said it was better the next day. “Not as blue cheesy,” Bridget said.

Make this for company.

Leave a Reply

