Pot Roast Isn’t Pretty, But…

September 27, 2007

I try very hard to take beautiful pictures for Blake Makes. We’ve cooked a lot of stuff for the blog (and of course we eat every night), but if it doesn’t look good, I don’t post it.

I broke that rule tonight because this is pot roast. Maybe pot roast isn’t meant to be pretty, but it’s so good.

I don’t think you can screw it up either. I season a big roast with tons of Kosher salt and black pepper.

I heat a pan (not non-stick) to blazing, rub the roast with a little oil, and SEAR!

This is just to seal it, so get a nice crust on all sides (and the ends).

Next, I throw it in my crock pot with some potatoe, onions and carrots. I also toss in a few sprigs of thyme.

Cook it all day. It’s ready when you get home from work (and to nibble at over lunch).

I know it’s redundant, but we serve it over rice. Tuck in.

4 Responses to “Pot Roast Isn’t Pretty, But…”

  1. Natalie Says:

    So, the only seasonings you use for the roast are salt and pepper? Anything else like garlic pepper or onion seasoning?

    My MIL uses the onion soup packets, but I find that sometimes the roast comes out too salty.

  2. Blake Says:

    I’m a hard core, whole food believer. I never really use seasoning mutations (not that there’s anything wrong with them, I’ve just never used them). I may sprinkle some Tony’s over the occasional dish, but this pot roast is just salt and pepper and a sprig of thyme. Simple, but delicious. bk

  3. Naughty Heather Says:

    Blake,
    Sometime I would love to see you post some info on how you do your pictures – they are always beautiful, and I can’t figure out how you do it.
    Thanks –
    Heather

  4. Blake Says:

    Hey Heather,

    I’m revealing an entirely new design to Blake Makes next week. After then, I’ll do a post and let you know how I capture my pics.

    But for now, my secret is the sun and a setting on my camera. I have a small kitchen with one window. Mid-afternoon, the sun is perfect, so rule #1 is have good light.

    Rule #2 involves the Macro setting on my camera. It’s not that I have an amazing camera (Canon Powershot Elph SD450), but I discovered the digital macro setting which allows me to get really close to the food.

    I always like to get in the face of the food. I’ll post more next week.


Leave a Reply

