Seared Ginger Tuna (2 of 2)

July 4, 2007

Step 2: Searing the tuna

Remove the tuna from its marinade and pat it dry. Drizzle over a little toasted sesame oil, and cover each side in a generous cracking of black pepper.

Heat a cast-iron skillet (I prefer cast-iron because it gets really hot) until it’s smoking, and slap on the tuna. It will sizzle and smoke like crazy. Cooking times will vary depending on preference of doneness. I let the white creep up the side just a smidge before I turn it over (about 2 minutes per side).

I remove it from the iron and let it rest for a bit. To serve, I slice it against the grain and arrange it on the plate. I spoon over a simple mixture of soy sauce, grated ginger and a drip of honey. Garnish with chopped chives.

3 Responses to “Seared Ginger Tuna (2 of 2)”

  1. gardenqueen Says:

    Sounds yummy! I like my tuna more well-cooked, but my husband loved the seared. All I have to do is put mine on just a bit earlier. Off to find tuna. Great photos, too.

  2. Blake Says:

    Thanks for the comment! Let me know how it turns out. If you send me a pic, I’ll post it! bk

  3. blake p Says:

    Seared Tuna is my favorite dish of all time when going out to dinner. Had Antelope last night though, kind of a different experience to say the least.


Leave a comment